17 Dec 2019

2019 CCS teaching award for Dr Jane Varney

Dr Jane Varney
Congratulations to Dr Jane Varney for winning Central Clinical School's teacher innovation and impact award this year! Jane was the lead for innovative development of the Monash FODMAP online course for dietitians. It has already had 1200 enrolments from 66 countries and 300 graduations. The course has:
  • High student satisfaction
  • Strong enrolments driven by good reputation
  • Reaching dietitians world-wide
  • Connecting IBS patients with Monash FODMAP trained dietitians
See Jane's video describing how the course works.

The award is open to all CCS staff working to innovate in learning and teaching, whether academic or professional, individuals or teams. Enquiries to Professor Robyn Slattery, Robyn.Slattery@monash.edu.

Contribution recognised to international leadership in haemophilia and thrombosis

Adjunct Professor (Practice) Huyen Tran
Congratulations to Associate Professor Huyen Tran, to Adjunct Professor (Practice) by Monash University! This is a well-deserved recognition for his contribution to international leadership in haemophilia and thrombosis, advancing clinical care and research in these areas, empowering developing countries in the provision of specialist services and higher degree supervision of clinician-scientists at Monash University.

Prof Tran is based at the Australian Centre for Blood Diseases. His efforts have placed Monash University and Alfred Health at the apex of this sub-speciality within Australia and enabled the establishment of collaborations with other centres in the European Union, the USA, and South East Asia.

CCS BMedSc Honours student highest achiever in 2019!

Ms Gillian Lim is dux of the 2019 cohort
of Bachelor of Medical Science (Hons).
Congratulations to Gillian Lim on being dux of the year! Gillian is the highest achieving Bachelor of Medical Science (Honours) student in 2019 across all three cohorts of students that have completed the BMedSc(Hons) degree in 2019. These include the full-year cohort that Gillian was part of (2019FY),  the mid-year Clayton 2018-2019 cohort and the Malaysia Nov 2018-June 2019 cohort.

Gillian's thesis was "The physiology of reflux following sleeve gastrectomy". She was supervised by Professor Wendy Brown, Dr Paul Burton (both in the Central Clinical School's Department of Surgery) & Professor Geoff Hebbard (RMH).

Congratulations to our inaugural Robyn O'Hehir Honours dux prize winners!

Matthew Drill
Elan L'Estrange-Stranieri
The Robyn O'Hehir medal is awarded for the top-ranked Honours student in CCS. The medal is named for Professor Robyn O'Hehir AO, Professor-Director of Allergy, Immunology and Respiratory Medicine in Central Clinical School and the Alfred Hospital. It was instituted in 2019 by our outgoing Head of School, Professor Stephen Jane.

Congratulations to our 2019 inaugural awardees!

  • Matthew Drill (Department of Neuroscience)
    Honours thesis: The link between Purinergic P2X receptor 7 (P2X7R) and Granulocytic-Macrophage Colony-Stimulating Factor (GM-CSF) in  Glioblastoma.
    Matthew was supervised by Dr Mastura Monif
  • Elan L'Estrange-Stranieri (Department of Immunology and Pathology)
    Honours thesis: Assessing the kinase independent role of Lyn in preventing lupus.
    Elan was supervised by Associate Professor Margaret Hibbs.

Recent publications from Central Clinical School: 2-16 Dec 2019

Dr Marina Carpinelli is 2nd author
on a paper investigating the genetic
background of palatal clefting
Recent publications from Central Clinical School affiliated researchers in the following departments. This is not a comprehensive list:
  • ACBD
  • Anaesthesiology and Perioperative Medicine
  • Immunology and Pathology
  • Infectious Diseases
  • Melbourne Sexual Health Centre
  • Neuroscience
  • Peninsula Clinical School
  • Psychiatry: Monash Alfred Psychiatry research centre
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...